Sophie’s Pound Doggie Story

dog sketch sophie Page 5

When my puppy was a year old, I realized that he needed a Dog to play with instead of just Me.  Falcor was the first PUPPY I had been able to get in 20 years. I was head over hills in love with my new baby! My Son kept asking me when I would put him on the floor. (He was only 5 pounds and so tiny.)

Now SOPHIE’S STORY. I decided to go to the Humane Society to find little Falcor a friend. I needed another small dog, preferably youngish, that would not hurt little Falcor. I looked in the small dog area at 2 or 3 dogs. Then I saw SOPHIE. She was bent over because her long legs did not allow her to stand up straight in the small cage. Her hair had been shaved down to the matted part and she was sooo thin. Apparently she had a litter of puppies recently because her mammary glands were still enlarged.

All of my reasoning told me not to get an older dog primarily because I had recently lost my previous rescued  Australian Sheep Dog, which broke my heart. He and I had been always together when I was home. I had him for about 9 years, but in the end he was in such pain that he could not even stand.

SOPHIE. She broke my heart. She looked so pitiful slumped over in that cage. I could not take her home with me until the weekend when her time there was complete. She threw up in the car, I guess from nervousness. She got  to her new home, my house, and seemed quite happy to be there. One problem was that she guarded her food dish constantly.

After a year with us SOPHIE has turned into the most lovable angel possible! She loves to sit in your lap, sleep with you, and play with us and Falcor! I am so happy that I took another chance. She is a doll.

TAKE A CHANCE on these adorable dogs. I suspect SOPHIE came from a puppy mill that had recently been shut down. She did not even seem to know what grass was. She is every bit as sweet as my previous rescue that passed away and appreciative for all the love and fun she gets! Take a chance, really. You can receive a great deal of love in return.

About sabuloustempest

I have gone back to what I love, which is, drawing, painting, pen and ink, creating items through all possibilities, gardening, walking in natural beauty, and enjoying life. I have a BFA from Stephen F. Austin University in Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

