My Mother is 87 Today

Mother turns 87

Mother turns 87

Mother’s birthday is somewhat scary for me. She is in a Nursing Home and perpetually confused and somewhat psychotic now. My sister and I are there every other day to help her eat her lunch and make sure that she does eat andis taken care of. Because she has either alzheimers or dementia, she needs help now more then ever. My sister and I both have back problems now from previous work issues or health. Mother cannot help when getting in her wheelchair or out of her bed, and although we try, we have trouble helping her now.

She also “see’s” things or people. She will call out to these unknown people which can scare some attendants. One stated that she see’s ghost! I guess some don’t understand. I do not worry about such things and will just talk to her about what she does see. She was a lovely woman and I am sure she would want to remembered as the smart, good person she was, not the confused person she is now.

Of course my sister and are are so very afraid that this will happen to us in 20 years or so. Though it is easy to say, “Don’t let this happen to me!”, I am sure this is such a gradual thing that we won’t realize it  until it is too late.

I feel that this is a rant, and pardon me, for I still wish my Mother Happy Birthday.

Thank you for listening.

About sabuloustempest

I have gone back to what I love, which is, drawing, painting, pen and ink, creating items through all possibilities, gardening, walking in natural beauty, and enjoying life. I have a BFA from Stephen F. Austin University in Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

